Posted by: it4c | January 19, 2009

The Short List is Out


The 2007 Winners with their trophies

The 2007 Winners with their trophies

After a long week sifting through and selecting the best nominations we have finally sent the shortlist to the judges.


We managed to reduce 50 good nominations down to 25 great nominations. The Judging Panel meets this Wednesday afternoon. They have the difficult task of picking the 3 excellent finalists in each category ready for the winners’ announcement at the ceremony on Thursday 19th February at the British Computer Society London HQ.

As promised, here are the short listed nominations for each category:

Best IT Volunteer

Age Concern Tunbridge Wells with volunteer Richard Larkin

Cambridge Link-Up with volunteer Scott McCabe 

Citizens Online Edinburgh with volunteer Kirsten Cook

Dulwich Picture Gallery volunteer Adam Burstow 

Galop with volunteer Lenna Cumberbatch 

Hands Inc with volunteer Paula Graham 

Leeds Mencap with volunteer Tim Chapman

Rotherham CAB with volunteer Paul Campbell 

Shine FM with volunteer Andrew Kennedy 

Swindon Scrapstore with volunteer Andy Rossi 

TimeBank with volunteer Varsha Patel 

Training Link with volunteer Toni Bailey 

VCA East Cambridgeshire with volunteer Peter Buchan 

Westminster Advocacy Service for Senior Residents with volunteer Clive McClure

Best IT Volunteering Project – Impact on Organisation

Citizens Online with volunteer Alan

Grassington Festival of Music & Arts with their volunteer

Guildford Waverley Crossroads Care their volunteer

St John Ambulance with volunteer Dan Nicholls

Best IT Volunteering Project – Innovations

Age Concern Enfield Trans IT with youth volunteers

Special Effects with volunteer Mark Allen

St Hilda’s East with their volunteer

Trinity Community Arts with volunteer Alex Holding

Best IT Volunteering Project – Accessibility

Community Link Up with volunteer Ashni Sedani

Derbyshire Coalition for Inclusive Living with volunteer Estelita

RNIB Cymru with their 20 volunteer Digi-Champions


Congratulations to all those short listed and good luck for the final Judging!

Bookmark this blog ready for the finalists announcement later in the week…



  1. I am impressed by Andrew Kennedy (Shine FM) and by his unwavering and professional committment to a Community Radio Station with a Christian ethos. The station could not perform to the standards that it does without Andrew.

  2. Shine FM could not function as effectively without the dedication and professionalism of Andrew Kennedy. His expertise in the IT arena is unquestionnable.

  3. Hey Josh/everyone
    Congrats on a fab line up in the shortlist – look forwrad to seeing who won at the ceremony
    Happy judging…

  4. Brilliant line-up and some really useful insights to be gained from looking at the various sites (e.g. the three accessibility finalists demonstrate the variety and vibrancy that can be achieved when you really foreground the issue of accessibility).
    I am looking forward to the event and congratulate the organisers in advance for their help and responsiveness to queries – Nigel is a star!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s


%d bloggers like this: